The MacBook Pro

Okay, I can’t believe I still haven’t made a post about the MacBook Pro that I managed to buy in an entirely crazy series of events. Yes, I have mentioned it in a couple of posts, but still, something as huge as this deserves it’s own very loooong post. Buying a MacBook Pro one day was like a dream for me. Can’t believe it came true so early. Now I need some new inspiration. :P

So yes, I’ll just start from the beginning. One fine day, I was just bumming around on Facebook, and one of my friends had posted a note about this online giveaway thing called HP Better Together Giveaway. He also mentioned how his friend won an HP Mini in the same competition last year. Last to last year, actually. Anyway, so I just decided to check this website out. Now I’m not somebody who enters into contests because I’ve always felt that my luck isn’t particularly fond of me. So the working of this competition was simple – HP had collaborated with certain school/college related websites and organised this giveaway in which they were giving away an HP dv6 and an HP Mini. So different websites with which HP had collaborated were organising their giveaway on different sets of dates. As in one website finished and the next one started it. What you were required to do to participate in the giveaway varied from website to website. Some website wanted you to put up a picture of your current computer and tell them why you need a new one, others wanted you to post some funny incident from college. I participated in this on about 5 websites. And the one which made me win was the website which had the simplest way of entering. I just had to join their Facebook page and post a message there about me wanting to participate. I did that and my entry went into a random name generator website and to my utter disbelief, the random name generator actually selected MY NAME! I was like “Oh fuck you’ve got to be fucking kidding me!” when I got a message from the website telling me that I’d actually won an HP DV6 and an HP Mini! I was overfuckingjoyed!

So you must be wondering how the MacBook Pro happened instead of the HPs, no?

Well, what happened was that even though this contest was a worldwide thing, HP wasn’t too keen on sending me the machines because they would’ve had to pay crazy service tax on the shipping or some similar economic issue. So they kept making me wait while all the other winners (US-based) got their machines. Finally they decided that they’ll send me the equivalent of the two machines in terms of money. My problem with them was that HP’s machines are much more expensive in India than they are in the US. So the money they were sending wasn’t sufficient for me to buy the two machines out here. However, they weren’t willing to give me anything more and even I thought that I’m getting all this for free anyway, so might as well take what they’re giving me. To cut the long story short, they sent me the money, and I bought me a shiny new 13-inch MacBook Pro.

First, the specs.

Processor: Intel Core2Duo 2.2GHz.
RAM: 4 GB.
HDD: 500 GB.
GPU: Integrated NVIDIA GeForce 9400M.
OS: Mac OS 10.6.3 Snow Leopard.

So yep, it’s an average configuration. I mean, it would’ve been good by mid-2009 standards but now they’ve all these Intel Core i5s and i7s in the market, so a Core2Duo is strictly average. Another thing that makes it average is the lack of a discrete graphics processor. But I’m no gamer or graphics artist, so it serves me just fine. Now about somethings I LOVE about this machine, and some things which I don’t like so much.

iLike:

  • The body: I don’t think I even need to say much about the body. The aluminum unibody casing is kickass, and I just love the edge to edge glass screen. Cleaning this thing is a pain in the butt, though. The unibody construction is a welcome change from my Dell Inspiron 1525′s body, whose paint has started chipping off and screws have started falling off.
  • The keyboard: The backlit keyboard works like a dream. I’ve discussed backlit keyboards with many people and have always been of the opinion that it is a strictly convenience based feature. As in it’s not absolutely necessary. But now my feelings towards it have changed to a fairly large extent. I love the backlit keyboard. I find myself squinting to make out the lettering on keys of other machines now. And the best part is that not only does it automatically adjust according to the surroundings, there are also shortcut keys for adjusting the intensity of light according to the user’s requirement. It’s a big help when you’re trying to save power or watching a movie in the dark. I personally don’t like any other light distracting me when I’m watching a movie. This is one grudge that I have with some HP machines. They have way too many unnecessary status lights.
  • The touchpad: You have to use the touchpad on this machine. You just have to use to to know how bloody awesome multi-touch gestures can be. I find myself trying to do the two-finger scroll on every other touchpad that I now end up laying my hands on. Also the four-finger swipe to bring up Exposé is like the best thing ever. When people tell you that it’s actually fun to work on a Mac, they’re not lying.
  • The battery: I’m used to not getting the kind of battery life that companies promise on their websites. But the battery on this machine has totally lived upto, and almost surpassed expectations. It’s quite a relief to know that I have a computer who’s battery is not gonna die on me in 1 hour and 30 minutes flat. It actually lasts around 4 and a half hours in case of fairly moderate to heavy usage (WiFi + browsing + YouTube + iTunes + downloads, etc).
  • The menubar: I just love the way the menubar functions. But I’d like to give credit to an application called iStat Menus for this. This has made my menubar my one touch access to everything I need. It tells me about my CPU usage, my battery status, my CPU temperature, fan speed, network activity and what not. Sure the Windows taskbar does most of these things, too, but it doesn’t do them half as beautifully and conveniently as the Mac does.
  • The dock: I don’t think I need to say much about this. It has already been integrated into Windows using 3rd party applications such as RocketDock. But it’s brilliant. Puts all your commonly used applications in one place and lets you launch them conveniently. Groups similar documents and application windows. And some of the nice things are that application developers can optimize their application icons for the OS X dock. For example: The Apple Mail icon shows the number of unread mails right in the dock. The Transmission icon shows the number of completed downloads and the upload/download speeds in it’s icon. The folders open up beautifully to show their contents. All in all, it reduces the amount of clicks and mouse movements you have to make for launching your applications.

iDon’tLike

  • Cut: The fact that there is no “Cut” option, sucks. Yes, I can cut-copy-paste text between documents and on browsers, but I can’t cut files from one place and place them onto another. I have to first copy the files, paste them, and then send the original files to Trash. Double the work. Sucks. I know it saves me from accidentally deleting files, but still, I’m really not that dumb.
  • QuickTime Player: Sucks. Big time. It doesn’t play half the things. Yes, I know I can install VLC Player and play everything on that instead, or maybe download Perian [and just for the record, I have done both of those], but still, it would’ve been nicer if QuickTime was a bit more robust. All in all, video rendering is one thing that has been a bit of a disappointment for me. Even VLC Player doesn’t really make the video watching experience fun, and likes to crash fairly regularly.
  • Flash: This is the only major problem that I have with the Mac. Yes, I know Steve Jobs has given his reasons for not allowing Flash on iPods, iPhones, and iPads, but the Flash experience should have been made much, much better on their mainstream operating system. The Flash support on Snow Leopard sucks to say the least. Watching something as simple as a YouTube video shoots up the CPU usage to 50%. And if you’re watching it in High Quality, it goes up to 100%, and that takes the CPU temperature to a sweet 85 to 90 something degrees, and I’m not very comfortable with that. Similarly, quite a few websites on the interwebs are either completely Flash based, or have some Flash based portions or ads on them or whatever. The point is that I can’t open many tabs in my browser because the combined effect of a number of Flash based websites takes the CPU usage back to 100%. And because of all this stupidity, I’ve been forced into using a Firefox Addon to stop it from running anything Flash whatsoever. And even though it does kind of solve the multiple tabs issue, but it’s still a pain in the butt because it keeps interfering with GMail chat functionality. It’s all so blah. Now I don’t know if Apple is at fault, or Adobe, but I do know that Apple seriously needs to do something about this because right now I have to switch on my Windows machine just so I can watch a YouTube video, and looking at the number of people who watch YouTube videos these days, I don’t think Apple is going to be very comfortable about this.

So yep, now you know everything about the MacBook Pro. And just for the record, I’m not showing off. Okay Sahil? :P

Also, the MacBook Pro is a she and her name is Agalia. You can leave your love for her and your hate for me in the comments.  And with that it’s a wrap on this edition of Power Breakfas.. fuck, I need to stop watching CNBC TV18. Er, bye! Later!

64 thoughts on “The MacBook Pro

  1. @Sweetlimesalty: When will you start posting nice comments on my blog, sweet lime soda? :P

    And it is good that you’re using a MacBook Pro na. Although that hardly matters to you. :P

    And haan, that is Billie Joe whatever on the wallpaper. But that’s a really old picture na. Abhi toh I have these chopsticks as my wallpaper. Do hain. Ek chahiye? :P

  2. @Espera: It’s Greek. It means bright joy, happiness and generally, um, joy and happiness. And it’s an awesome name, okay? I stand by it. Boo! :P

  3. @Sweetlimesalty: Yep, I gedit sweet-lime-soda. :P

    And noooo! Not the phoo again! *goes around flying and lands up on your blog* Yeh kahaaaan aa gaye hum? :P

    And oho, what’s the deal with chopsticks now? Why don’t you wanna comment? :P

  4. Is sweet-lime-soda your nickname for her??? Awwwwwwee!!! =p =p
    And you were either showing off, yes, or Apple paid you big time for this. And I saw the greenday wallpaper, too. Very classy.

  5. @Sweetlimesalty: Maine kab bola that you’re not sweetlimesalty, sweet lime soda? :P

    And no, I actually quite like your blog! Lots of spunk and colorful bangles and all, you know? Coool. :D

    And wokay, I’ll ask you later. :P

    @Nidhi: Yep, sweet-lime-soda is totally my nickname for her. Awesome na? Go me! :D :P

    And nope, I wasn’t showing off. I just wanted to document this important happening. And dude, nobody pays me for anything. I advertised Dell like crazy and they didn’t pay me anything. I’ve actually made at least 3 people buy Dell, too, but nothing. They’re all evil. Blah.

    And yep, I used to love that Green Day wallpaper. Must keep it again sometime. :D

    • You thought you’d rather be rational and buy something that would have a much better configuration than a Mac for the same price would. Not an entirely bad idea, you know?

      I keep saying that I bought this thing only because it wasn’t exactly my money.

    • But I didn’t want Jobs the Asshole to have my money na. And, yes, Lucifer has such a sexy configuration. :|

  6. I’m oooh-ing and aaahhh-ing =P
    I’ve been using Macs off and on for a looong time, and I never realized they don’t have a cut-and-paste for files :O

    Also, the pressing-enter-on-a-file-renames-instead-of-opening-it thing annoys me :/

    • Woah, I just noticed the pressing enter on a file renames it part. But I’m not much of a keyboard navigation guy so that’s not really a problem. But the cut-paste issue is. Because of this you have to copy everything over again if you want to put it into another folder. Imagine doing that when you have a Movies folder that’s like 50 GB in size or something. No copying should be necessary at least between transfers on the same partition.

    • Buying an HP dv6 and an HP Mini with the configuration that they were offering IS cheaper than buying the cheapest MacBook Pro in India.

      See, the dv6 they were offering had a Blu-Ray drive, a 1GB Graphics card, a 500 GB HDD and a 4 GB RAM. The base configuration of the dv6 resembles that of my Dell Inspiron, so there was no point buying that. So I thought I should go for the MBP instead. And so far, it’s been a pretty awesome decision.

    • No you didn’t. They’re brave people. They read my blog, dude. :P

      Does look like you scared yourself away, though. :-/

  7. My PR hacks have been pressuring me night and day to reply to your post (I can’t fire them. They’re PR hacks. The most dangerous animals known to Steve-kind. As they have recently started this A More Transparent Apple Campaign ever since we stepped past the borg on our quest for world dominance.

    So, these days instead of meditations on the meaning of the interspaces between Aluminium and PCBs in the zen context. I’ve been replying to emails. Not. Replying to emails and blogs is for the douche bags who work under me. However, I can’t say no to a PR hack, can I?

    Anyway, the hacks tell me that I have to transparent about our new Apple Social Media policy for which you agree whenever you buy an Apple product.

    According to our policy you, the consumer/user, has to pay Apple a stipend for posting on a online platform a review of our product. It is quite clear that we raise your page views through such reviews, and make your blog look way cooler than you can even imagine. Further, it has been comprehensively proven by Apple trained psychologists that the negative emotions inspired by your possession of the aforementioned product in fact raises your social prestige amongst your peer by a factor of 43 on the Apple iCool-ness scale.

    Hence, for collection of the aforementioned stipend please contact the nearest Apple Care representative for further details within a period of 21 hours or we shall be forced to take legal action against you.

    Yours Truly,
    Steven P. Jobs

    P.S. – Wait until I tell Michael about this. He is going to shit in his pants. Once again.

    • Yes, you’re right about everything, BUT I’m not paying you anymore money. I don’t have any left, you see? And that’s why I’m writing reviews of your product on my blog so that I can get more readers, who can finally donate some money so that I can buy food to eat and pay for my internet connection. Moreover, after reading this positive review of your product, other people are likely to go and buy Apple products. So by that logic, I’m giving you more customers, and rather than asking for money, you should actually be thanking me.

      But then you won’t. You’re Steve Jobs.

      Even Michael Dell looks like an angel when I compare him to you. :P

    • Yes, you’re right about everything, BUT I’m not paying you anymore money. I don’t have any left, you see? And that’s why I’m writing reviews of your product on my blog so that I can get more readers, who can finally donate some money so that I can buy food to eat and pay for my internet connection.

      What do you mean you don’t have any left?

      Worry not my lawyers tell me that we have a solution. It appears that we can raise capital by forcing a foreclosure on your property, and Bing* tells me that property prices are up in India. (How can you live there?! I once went there and I returned shaved and disillusioned. I am not setting one foot on that god forsaken land until I am declared to be the reincarnation of Buddha and Jesus. Combined.)

      It is quite clear that buying an Apple product is equivalent to a mortgage. We are mortgaging coolness in a sexy package, and since you have agreed to our right of redemption, by the very act of buying the aforementioned product. We reserve our right to do whatever we want with your life.

      A team of Apple lawyers has been dispatched to solve this predicament with you in a bilateral negotiation.

      Moreover, after reading this positive review of your product, other people are likely to go and buy Apple products. So by that logic, I’m giving you more customers, and rather than asking for money, you should actually be thanking me.

      You think we need PR from you? You must be kidding me.

      Even if I walk into a giant auditorium and burp the national anthem people will orgasm on my command. Make no mistake in that Auditorium I am GodTM.

      You might say, what the hell Steve are you kidding me? As it has been pointed out above it is am Apple Certifiable Fact that I am the reincarnation of Jesus-Buddha.

      First of all, as we pointed out in our negotiations with the Vatican I have not 3, but 5 miracles under my belt. The Mac. The Apple ][. The iPod. The iPhone. The iPad. By using the power of these miracles I have shown the path of Enlightenment (patent pending) to billions of Apple devotees. Clearly, I am GodTM

      Second, my fashion sense is superior than all of you mere mortals out there. Black turtlenecks and jeans, could you guys have thought of that?

      Of course not, you are not me. That is why my friends you are all destined to serve the higher power of Apple.

      Renounce the products of evil.

      Embrace the path to true Enlightenment (patent pending).

      Oh and how dare you speak ill about my poor defenseless puppy?

      *We stopped using The-Enemy-Thy-Shall-Not-Name’s product after their CEO A.K.A. Squirrel Boy slept with our VPs. All of them.

      Dayum.

  8. My PR hacks have been pressuring me night and day to reply to your post (I can’t fire them. They’re PR hacks. The most dangerous animals known to Steve-kind. As they have recently started this A More Transparent Apple Campaign ever since we stepped past the borg on our quest for world dominance.

    So, these days instead of meditations on the meaning of the inter-spaces between Aluminium and PCBs in the zen context. I’ve been replying to emails. Not. Replying to emails and blogs is for the douche bags who work under me. However, I can’t say no to a PR hack, can I?

    Anyway, the hacks tell me that I have to transparent about our new Apple Social Media policy for which you agree whenever you buy an Apple product.

    According to our policy you, the consumer/user, has to pay Apple a stipend for posting on a online platform a review of our product. It is quite clear that we raise your page views through such reviews, and make your blog look way cooler than you can even imagine. Further, it has been comprehensively proven by Apple trained psychologists that the negative emotions inspired by your possession of the aforementioned product in fact raises your social prestige amongst your peer by a factor of 43 on the Apple iCool-ness scale.

    Hence, for collection of the aforementioned stipend please contact the nearest Apple Care representative for further details within a period of 21 hours or we shall be forced to take legal action against you.

    Yours Truly,
    Steven P. Jobs

    P.S. – Wait until I tell Michael about this. He is going to shit in his pants. Once again.

  9. Also, I am extremely sorry about any grammatical errors in previous comment.

    It appears that AT&T’s network has learned some new tricks. That reminds me of something. I gotta call Randall again and wish him bad luck for his share holders meeting.

  10. Um. I may look slightly (very?) stupid here but did Steve Jobs just comment on your post?! Or is this some kind of joke?!

    • Hey! Isn’t this the first time you’re visiting this place? Welcome!

      And nope, that isn’t Steve Jobs. That dude doesn’t have the kind of time. This is just one of my friend’s who’s really good at being Steve. In fact if it wasn’t for his e-mail ID that I can see in my dashboard, I probably would’ve thought that this is Jobs, too!

      Anyway, keep visiting! :D

    • Oh. Right. Coz Jobs is famed for doing this kind of thing. He spends all his time replying to emails from people who take his case for not promoting flash and stuff like that. I thought, well, maybe he has graduated to suing people in blog posts now.

      Still. I can see that some people are totally getting a kick out of this *glares*

    • How dare you look at me ye mere mortal?

      Do you not know, I am Steve Jobs?

      The Steve Jobs.

      Ugh, you mortals have no sense these days.

    • I know. It’s so tragic, isn’t it? On the count of 3, we must all take out our little lace hankies. Even you, pseudo-Steve. We must all mourn for humanity.

      @ Ishmeet:

      It was, actually, but I think I also had a go at you on your “Dumbledore is gay” valla post =D

    • Exactly.

      I like impersonating Steve Jobs in this crazy over the top way, because he reminds me that no matter what I do in life. I am never ever going to be like him.

      I admire him like hell for his work and creativity, but the bottom line is that he’s a complete asshole. The corollary to that is that he is successful because he is a complete asshole. He is absolutely ruthless. He doesn’t give a damn about you. Nope. He just wants to use you, belittle you and then fire you at the smallest pretext.

      In shorter terms, he is a highly distilled version of a psychopath.

    • Hell, you are a better Steve than I am. After all, I do all of the work and screw up AT&T’s network, while you get all the credit.

      However, not to worry the real Steve has a plan; let me patent everything my company makes under my name, while claiming credit for everything those retards make.

      Oh wait I already did that.

      Ha.

      So, in the end I win. As always. Or, I fire the asshole who beats me to the punch. If I can’t fire ‘em I sue ‘em.

      Yes, it’s really awesome being me.

      Lots of Hate,
      Steven P. Jobs

      Sent from my iPad

    • Yep, someone is pretty jobless these days. :P

      And for the last time, that was NOT Bharat.

      Will the real fake Steve Jobs please stand up, please stand up? :P

  11. WHAT?

    I didn’t think people actually got lucky like this. Friggin’ Unbelievable. I’d go crazy if I won a lottery like that.

    And depressed if they kept me waiting.

    Anyways, here’s hoping that you win many more lotteries in life.

    • I didn’t think that either. And trust me I couldn’t believe myself, either. It took a couple of days to dawn upon me. It was absolutely fucking insane! And yep, I did go crazy.

      And I did feel depressed, too. I’d started to lose hope at one point, but then they sent the money and things were never the same after that. :D

      And thanks for that wish! I hope it comes true! :D

  12. Finally aa gaya. :) You actually won something in a lucky draw contest. Man, that counts. I am jinxed for that sort of thing for whole life it seems. :)

    Congrats again. Hope you are having fun, take care! :)

    • Yep, aa hi gaya. And hey, even I used to think that I was jinxed for lotteries and stuff. Aaj se pehle tak toh mera 1 rupya tak nahi nikla kabhi kisi lucky draw mein. And then this happened. Guess you never really know kab kya ho jaye, nahi?

      And thanks. I’m having fun, yep. How’ve you been doing? How’s Pune? And take care, you too!

  13. Oh God, whattay beauty your spanking new toy is! And I can’t believe anyone can be so lucky as to win two laptops in a row and then buy a MacBook Pro out of their money instead. Been visiting some good Jyotish? :P

Say something, I'm listening. :)

