24Online Client doesn’t work on Windows Vista

As I’ve already said a million times, I recently installed Windows Vista Ultimate Edition on my laptop. Some people wanted to see a screenshot so I took one and will put it up in this post. You’ll have to wait though, because there’s a more urgent thing I need to talk about.

I’ve been using Hathway Broadband for the past one year or so. It connects to the internet via Elitecore’s 24Online Client. Now,the day I installed Windows Vista, I asked my internet guy to come and set up the Local Area Connection on Vista. Though it already works for me on Windows XP Professional Edition, I still wanted to see the real power of Vista. Unfortunately though, God a.k.a. Bill Gates had other plans. After I downloaded the client from the internet provider’s FTP, it give me a really ugly message box which said “The client doesn’t support this Operating System”. I called customer care and they said to me, “Use the internet on Windows XP, how does it matter?”. I didn’t have any replies to that and shrugged away. After that I did some extensive searching so I could find a Vista ready version of the client. That, however is not available because Elitecore hasn’t made it yet. The problem is that the client makes certain minor edits in the Windows registry and WinVista being overprotective, doesn’t allow that and hence the client doesn’t work. I told all of this to my ISP and now he says that they’ll try to do some code editing to make the client work. I hardly believe that’s gonna happen though. If anyone reading this, by chance has any solution to this problem, please help me out and I’ll be grateful to you all my life.

Anyhow, here’s the Windows Vista screenshot. It currently has a Jessica Alba wallpaper and is in 800×600 resolution.I use 1024×768 now but it should give you a good idea. There aren’t many fancy icons up there because I haven’t installed anything yet and that because I need the internet 24×7 and because it isn’t available, Vista is currently just a useless piece of meat.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

50 thoughts on “24Online Client doesn’t work on Windows Vista

  1. Try shooting an email off to Microsoft Support! {Beware if they ask you to validate your Windows… I s’pose its the pirated one right?]

    Isn’t there a Compatibility sort of program they have with XP that lets you run old programs?

    If nothing works… you’re stuck mate. Badly. This is why WE advise you not to upgrade before 7 months when a new Windows OS launches.. give more time for the others to upgrade.

    And no I don’t work for Elitecore despite the official sounding comment. :P

  2. LOL no man,there’s no alternative.I wouldn’t dare to contact Billy Willy cause my Windows is 100% genuinely pirated.I don’t really mind though,WinXP works just fine right now.I’ll start using Vista as and when the client decides to upgrade.

    I wasn’t running my client through XP.I downloaded a fresh version of it but it’s not compatible just yet.

  3. tsk tsk….so u went and bit d fruit even though it was not ripe…..im gonna wait for a long time b4 i get vista coz im still in luv with XP…..by dat time dey will have fixed ne bugs and compatibility issues…….

  4. 100% Genuinely pirated.. thats what I thought. I guess its a TimeStopper version that extends the trial isn’t it? You should have waited till about June! ;)

  5. Yea it’s the same.

    It doesn’t really hurt does it? I didn’t spend any money on it and can uninstall it anytime I want. No big deal.

  6. Nah doesn’t hurt, but your laptop is better off without those bugs that it has currently! :lol:

    Did you check if it didnot have a virus or something? I’ve heard some timestoppers had viruses… make it a point to scan. I don’t have the money to ugrade just yet… nor will I even if I’ve got the money. I’m switching over to SUSE/Fedora Core soon and will keep XP just for Games and stuff.

    [How about a "Vista Experience" Post? ]

  7. I haven’t really had an “experience” with it yet. I’ve totally ignored it because it doesn’t have internet and I’ll die without it.

  8. Well guys i am using 24online and vista :), one should be aware the vista has some thing called as backward compability, Rt click on the client > properties > compability > check “run this prog…. ” and then choose Windows XP SP2 or what u want.. enjoy and dont harrase uncle bill for small things

  9. right click on the installer
    goto properties
    under compatibility mode select windows xp sp2
    run the installer
    after installation is over
    goto install folder and right click on the 24online.exe file and again under compatibility select windows xp sp2

    it worked for me
    but then i started facing other problems
    like it sayin “sorry could not contact server” when its preferences said “Cyberoam server found” and also i could ping the gateway

    however my ISP has provided an alternate login method via a webpage

    hope it works better for u

  10. Oh well I did use Vista Transformation Pack but then again, Windows XP with a transformation pack can never be the same as Windows Vista. It may have it’s negatives but it also has many positives.

  11. 24 Online Client Works Just FINE on Vista.
    Right CLick the setup file,
    Go to “Compatibility” tab and
    Check “Run this program in compatibility mode(Windows XP SP2)”
    click apply
    Now again right click the setup file and click “Run as Administrator”
    Install 24 Online Client.
    Enjoy
    :)

  12. Hello All,
    Yes this is 100% true. 24online client does’nt work on vista. And i could not find any solution that how VISTA users will be use 24online client. there are no manual in elitecore website.
    You know that you are doing business there. and your 24online software does’nt a freeware or non comercial software. so why dont you repair the bug.
    Please do something asap.

    Bye………:)

    Riyad
    Proshika Computer System trust
    http://www.proshikanet.com

  13. This is for everybody:-

    Yes, 24Online Client works on Vista. It’s done the exact way like Asky has explained one comment above this. Thank you Asky!

  14. hi, i did try wot asky has said above. However, 24Online client still duznt seem to work on ma noteook. i have a genuine windows vista home basisc edition. Plz help. i guess otherwise i will hv to load an xp in spite of paying for a vista! :(

  15. Hello Ravi,

    Can you please describe what problem you are facing? I guess it would be logical if you can call your internet connection professional because it could be some issues from the backend or the IP Addresses.

  16. hey guys, i am using vista for past 2 months and i am accessing internet with the use of cyberoam http client.
    it is very simple to use
    just try using it

  17. Hi ANkit, whenver i install 24Online client, (even in compatibility mode), it asks me to reboot after installation. However, when i reboot, it says windows cant boot. Some repairs are done (it takes 15 mins) and then when vista does boot, the 24ONline client installation has been removed. Please help. ALso, can some one tell me the details (link et al) of the http client? i am hopin that will work for me!

  18. I dont know how you people made it work, but its not working on mine…even with compatibility mode, it gives some registry files missing or something like that….webaccess gives check item failed, but i think calling hathway cust. support wud resolve it but then it will not work in xp.

  19. Hai guys !!!

    After you have installed Vista first configure your ip-ad, dflt gtway and others details in lam settings and then call up ur local cable isp support to reset your MAC from their end if necsry..or else the moment ur ip and staff r in place u will get the 24online client login page up whenevr u try and open any website on the IE..so login their and u r good to go.

    Coz this fools didnt yet create the login client s/w for Vista. This is how i m login in..

    Cheers mate..email me if u people r still facing any issues..

  20. hi guys,
    am facing with a problem i installed the 24online in my notebook n after it when i gave my username n password n then clicking on login button it is saying this is not accessable on this machine please help me out

  21. READ THIS CAREFULLY…KEEP YOUR VISTA INTACT…NOW WHEN YOU ARE OFFLINE(IN VISTA) OPEN INTERNET EXPLORER(OR ANY OTHER BROWSER) AND TYPE IN ANY WEBSITE ADDRESS, FOR EXAMPLE, TYPE http://www.google.com, YOU WILL BE REDIRECTED TO 24 ONLINE CLIENT WEB-LOG IN PAGE…JUST TYPE IN YOUR USER NAME AND PASSWORD AND LOGIN….IF IT DENIES THEN JUST CALL UP YOUR SERVICE PROVIDER AND ASK THEM TO REGISTER YOUR NAME IN THEIR WEB LOGIN PAGE( OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT), ONCE YOU LOGGED IN, DONT CLOSE THE WINDOW, JUST MINIMISE IT, OPEN ANOTHER WINDOW AND START SURFING…YOU HAVE TO LOG OUT IN THE SAME MANNER…VISTA IS GREAT AND EFFICIENT IF YOU LEAVE OUT THE FLASHY STUFFS….REMEMBER TO THANK ME

    • Dear steve,

      i think ur sugession is the only solution of this problem, rest all i tried like (compatibility) but i cant run 24 online client on vindows vist home premium

      Rgrds,
      Sameer

  22. hey guyz

    m using Vista Ultimate

    nd m getting same problem………

    theres no compatibility mode in mine vista…..when i right click setup file nd go to properties…i find only three tabs… those are: General, Archive, Details, Previous Versions……now what to do????

    i dont evn knw my http client…

  23. you can still browse with this software in win vista.All
    you have to do is, double click on your browser, when the window is opened, type any web address. Then the cybroam client window will flash in.Type your user name
    and password and press log in. Thats it, you don’t need
    to install the software.

  24. I HAD THA SAME PROB…….
    I UR INTERNET EXPLORER WINDOW……
    IN THE ADDRESS BAR…..
    TYPE IN THE IP ADDRESS OF UR 24ONLINE SERVER….
    U WILL B REDIRECTED 2 THA LOGIN PAGE
    JUZ LOGIN
    IF SOMETHING LIKE “YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO LOGIN FROM THIS COMPUTER” APPEARS……ASK UR NETWORK ADMINITRATOR TO REFRESH THEIR NETWORK MAP…..
    ENJOY….
    VISTA IS CUL….
    YUP IN MA CASE THA IP IS — 203.88.128.7

    THANK ME……

  25. I have a solution if you are using Windows Vista 64.
    I tried and were able to connect through fine.
    Downlaod these files from Rapidshare link.

    This will include Netmeeting and client for 24 Online.
    Select compatibility mode and set these two files compatible for Windows NT.
    Install Netmeeting first.
    Then configure your network card as per the ISP static IP.
    Install client for 24online and restart the computer.

    Type in server address and there you go….

    Use your log on credential to log on.

    need any help… post me on ashish7t9@yahoo.co.uk

  26. superb explanation guys i think i have to try this method on my laptop soon.I have been looking for solution of this problem whole day long lol :P!!!

    Regards,
    Sam.

  27. DOES ANYONE TRIED WT ASHIS MENTIONED REGARDING XP64. IS THAT WORKING FINE….
    pLZZ LET ME KNOW…
    I WANT TO INSTALL VISTA64

  28. hey guys,
    i’ve been facing this problem with my vista based laptop..
    tried and tired soo much and couldn’t find solutions..
    but guess what?
    the compatibility should be done to windows 98/windows Me..
    and preferably make it to run as administrator..
    it worked best for me..
    hope you’ll find it useful..
    Peace..Salam..

    • To download 24online client for vista rapidshare showing this massage “this file is neither allocated to a Premium Account, or a Collector’s Account, and can therefore only be downloaded 10 times.

      This limit is reached.

      To download this file, the uploader either needs to transfer this file into his/her Collector’s Account, or upload the file again………………..”

      Please send me the file to my email (inwinxpsp_5@yahoo.co.uk).

  29. hi i am using two laptops one with windows xp O.S another one is vista o.s . i installed 24 online in both O.S , its working in xp and also it is installed in vista but it is asking for server I.p address .so i mentioned same server IP address which i mentioned in XP . but it is displaying check the server connections or error in server . so what is plan to install in vista tooo.

  30. Hey!

    Got installed on the WIndows 7 successfully, not sure why it is asking for server address…. and when i enter the login page http address, gives me an error that the server ip is invalid.

    Can some one give me info on how to login to Beam Cable using 24 Online Client??

    -Sandeep.

  31. Ask your internet provider to provide you http login. I also had same prob. in Win7 but now its working fine with http login.

  32. hi,
    when i click 24online client shortcut,it has stopped working message will coming. plz solution to this question.
    thanq u..

Say something, I'm listening. :)

